Sylvania, Ohio

Sylvania is a suburb of Toledo, Ohio.  Judge William Wilson and General David White founded Sylvania in 1833, just 30 years after Ohio became a state. It was named for the dense forests that covered the area. Sylvania now hosts a community-focused population of about 19,000, an historic downtown, beautiful homes and exceptional schools. It is comprised of the The City of Sylvania and Sylvania Township. The City collects a 1 ½% income tax, the township does not.

Government

City of Sylvania
6730 Monroe St.
Sylvania, Ohio 43560
P: 419-885-8926
F: 419-885-8927
City of Sylvania Website:  www.CityofSylvania.com
Sylvania Township
4927 Holland-Sylvania Road
Sylvania, Ohio 43560-2121
Phone: 419-882-0031
Fax: 419-885-8311
Sylvania Township Website:  www.SylvaniaTownship.com
Mayor’s Office
Craig Stough, Mayor
Laura Bigelow, Administrative Assistant
6730 Monroe St.
P: 419-885-8925
F:419-885-8927
Email: city.mayor@cityofsylvania.com
Sylvania Township
John Zeitler
Administrator
jzeitler@sylvaniatownship.comSusan Wood
Assistant Administrator
swood@sylvaniatownship.com
City Council
Meeting Address:
Council Chambers
6635 Maplewood Ave.
Mailing Address:
Sylvania City Council
6730 Monroe St.
Sylvania Chamber of Commerce
5632 N. Main Street
Sylvania, Ohio 43560
Phone: (419) 882-2135
Fax: (419) 885-7740
Email: admin@sylvaniachamber.org
www.SylvaniaChamber.org

Department of Public Safety

Sylvania Police Department
William H. Rhodus, Chief of Police
6635 Maplewood Ave.
Non-emergency: 419-885-8902
Chief of Police: 419-885-8911
Community Affairs: 419-885-8906
E-Mail: community.affairs@sylvaniapolice.com
Sylvania Township Police
Rob Boehme, Police Chief
Email: rboehme@sylvaniatownshippolice.com
Non-emergency 419-882-2055
Administration 419-885-4962
Sylvania Fire Department & Rescue
Frederick Welsh, Fire Chief
6633 Monroe St.
Office/Nonemergency: 419-882-7676
E-Mail: fwelsh@sylvaniatownshipfire.com
Sylvania Township Fire Dept.
Jeff Kowalski, Fire Chief
Email: jkowalski@sylvaniatownshipfire.com
Sylvania Township Fire Department: 419-882-7676

Department of Public Service

Streets
Patrick Livingston, Superintendent
5509 Harroun Rd.
P: 419-885-8973
Pothole Hotline: 419-885-8973
E-Mail: city.streets@cityofsylvania.com
Utilities
Rick J. Barricklow, Superintendent
6730 Monroe St.
P: 419-885-8950
E-Mail: city.utilities@cityofsylvania.com
Sewer
Jeff Stasa, Foreman
6730 Monroe St.
P: 419-885-8957
E-Mail: plivingston@cityofsylvania.com
Water
Ben Black, Foreman
6730 Monroe St.
P: 419-885-8959
E-Mail: bblack@cityofsylvania.com

Schools

Sylvania Public Schools
Administrative Offices
4747 N. Holland-Sylvania Road
P: 419-824-8500
www.sylvaniaschools.org

For a list of faith-based schools,
visit the City of Sylvania’s school information page.

College/University

Lourdes College
6832 Convent Blvd.
P: 419-885-5291, 800-878-3210
www.lourdes.edu

Share